The Pretty Bird tries out an old wives tale.

5 Jul

When I was a teenager I read in Seventeen magazine that if you did a shot of whiskey on the first day of your period you would never have cramps. This was presented, I’m sure, as folk wisdom or something, not as actual, editorially-approved advice. Anyway, having a totally strict mother with whom I couldn’t even talk about cramps, I never gave it a try. Until today.

So far, I’ve had hiccups and a bourbon burp, and am awaiting other results. But it probably doesn’t help that I chased it with coffee and a Hershey bar. Nor that I have a fairly good tolerance at this point. Regardless, in the name of Science!, I’ll be sure to report back.

Update: Nope. That totally didn’t work at all. Maybe I need more bourbon.

2 Responses to “The Pretty Bird tries out an old wives tale.”

  1. ce. July 7, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Given your tolerance, I suggest at least 2 shots next month, in the name of science.

    • Victoria July 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

      At least. Maybe a whole tumbler-full. I’ll report back.

Leave a Reply

